Ghosts

To have loved and lost is to live with ghosts,
cause although you left me,
you still haunt the barren rooms within my heart.
Rooms I am not ready to share with anyone else.

They are empty of your presence,
yet you live on through every nail hole in the wall,
every crease in the carpet.
It’s hard to forget the changes you made to its anatomy.

but I am not trying to forget you.
how could I?
you still send your junk mail to its doorstep,
and from the inbox to the trashcan you force me to remember,
every inside joke shared,
every nickname you gave me,
every memory we created,
and with a shiver …
you pass right through me.

One thought on “Ghosts

Leave a Reply

